U.S. Coin Price Guide

Coin Collecting

Buy Coin Supplies

America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins
Program Information & Release Dates
By CoinNews.net

The United States Mint will issue a new series of coins in 2010 that are composed of silver and depict American National Parks and National Sites.

These coins are not the collector versions of the circulating America the Beautiful Quarters. They are, however, similar in name as they are called America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins and they share the same reverse designs.

Both new U.S. Mint coin series, the America the Beautiful Quarters™ Program and the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin™ Program, are authorized by the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008. The act was signed into Public Law 110-456 by former President Bush on December 23, 2008.
The main sections in it describe the new eleven year quarter coins that celebrate or commemorate a site within each state, the District of Columbia and United States Territories — Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Northern Mariana Islands.

The bullion coins are more of a footnote in the law with investment language geared toward the end stating:

"The Secretary shall strike and make available for sale such number of bullion coins as the Secretary determines to be appropriate that are exact duplicates of the quarter dollars."

Public Law 110-456 mandates the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion coin specifications. It requires each to:

have a diameter of 3.0 inches;
weigh 5.0 ounces;
contain .999 fine silver;
have incused into the edge the fineness and weight of the bullion coin;
bear an inscription of the denomination of such coin, which shall be ‘quarter dollar’; and
not be minted or issued by the United States Mint as so-called ‘fractional’ bullion coins or in any other size
The bullion coins are huge by historical American coinage standards. They are twice the size of early US silver dollars, like the Morgan and Peace Dollars, and nearly double that of today’s American Eagle Silver, which is 1.598 inches in diameter and includes a single ounce of silver.

During the program’s 11 years and at a rate of 5 per year, the silver coins’ reverse will feature a design emblematic of 48 National Park sites, two U.S. Fish and Wildlife sites, and six U.S. Forest Service sites.

Because the America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coins are intended for investment purposes, they will be distributed exactly like other US Mint bullion coins which include the American Gold and Silver Eagle Bullion Coins and the American Buffalo Gold Bullion Coins. The Mint does not sell these directly to the public like it does with its numismatic offerings (proof an uncirculated eagles, for example), but instead makes them available to a small network of authorized purchasers who then resell them to dealers, collectors and the public at large.

As a side note, there is a possibility that numismatic versions of the coins will be produced at some point, and sold directly by the Mint. U.S. Mint Director Ed Moy said as much earlier in 2010.

The new silvers coins have been a production challenge, according to Mr. Moy who described difficulties in complying with the terms of the legislation.

"The law was very specific," Moy stated at a public coin forum. "They said it had to be a certain diameter and it had to be 5 ounces. Well, there isn’t a 5 ounce blank out there, so we had to get this custom made. Then, because it was 3 inches in diameter, well we’ve got a 5 ounce piece of silver and we stretch it out to a 3 inch diameter, it’s paper thin."

Moy continued to explain additional issues in incusing the edge lettering on the .999 fine silver coins by commenting that the first tests resulted in "crumples." The Mint has since made "breakthroughs," as Moy described.

Beginning in 2011, it is expected that each bullion coin will be released during the same time as its corresponding quarter launch. 2010 will be different, however, due to the lateness and production issues. Current Mint plans are to release the 2010 silver coins "mid-year" and all at the same time.

The order in which a National Park or National Site was first placed under the care of the federal government dictates when it will be honored on the quarter and silver coin. Here are the America the Beautiful Silver Coin release dates from 2010 to 2021.


America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin Release Schedule

State / D.C. /
2010 Silver Bullion Coins Release
Arkansas Hot Springs National Park TBA 2010
Wyoming Yellowstone National Park TBA 2010
California Yosemite National Park TBA 2010
Arizona Grand Canyon National Park TBA 2010
Oregon Mount Hood National Forest TBA 2010
  2011 Silver Bullion Coins  
Pennsylvania Gettysburg National Military Park TBA 2011
Montana Glacier National Park TBA 2011
Washington Olympic National Park TBA 2011
Mississippi Vicksburg National Military Park TBA 2011
Oklahoma Chickasaw National Recreation Area TBA 2011
  2012 Silver Bullion Coins  
Puerto Rico El Yunque National Forest TBA 2012
New Mexico Chaco Culture National Historical Park TBA 2012
Maine Acadia National Park TBA 2012
Hawaii Hawaii Volcanoes National Park TBA 2012
Alaska Denali National Park TBA 2012
  2013 Silver Bullion Coins  
New Hampshire White Mountain National Forest TBA 2013
Ohio Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial TBA 2013
Nevada Great Basin National Park TBA 2013
Maryland Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine TBA 2013
South Dakota Mount Rushmore National Memorial TBA 2013
  2014 Silver Bullion Coins  
Tennessee Great Smoky Mountains National Park TBA 2014
Virginia Shenandoah National Park TBA 2014
Utah Arches National Park TBA 2014
Colorado Great Sand Dunes National Park TBA 2014
Florida Everglades National Park TBA 2014
  2015 Silver Bullion Coins  
Nebraska Homestead National Monument of America TBA 2015
Louisiana Kisatchie National Forest TBA 2015
North Carolina Blue Ridge Parkway TBA 2015
Delaware Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2015
New York Saratoga National Historical Park TBA 2015
  2016 Silver Bullion Coins  
Illinois Shawnee National Forest TBA 2016
Kentucky Cumberland Gap National Historical Park TBA 2016
West Virginia Harpers Ferry National Historical Park TBA 2016
North Dakota Theodore Roosevelt National Park TBA 2016
South Carolina Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) TBA 2016
  2017 Silver Bullion Coins  
Iowa Effigy Mounds National Monument TBA 2017
District of Columbia Frederick Douglass National Historic Site TBA 2017
Missouri Ozark National Scenic Riverways TBA 2017
New Jersey Ellis Island National Monument (Statue of Liberty) TBA 2017
Indiana George Rogers Clark National Historical Park TBA 2017
  2018 Silver Bullion Coins  
Michigan Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore TBA 2018
Wisconsin Apostle Islands National Lakeshore TBA 2018
Minnesota Voyageurs National Park TBA 2018
Georgia Cumberland Island National Seashore TBA 2018
Rhode Island Block Island National Wildlife Refuge TBA 2018
  2019 Silver Bullion Coins  
Massachusetts Lowell National Historical Park TBA 2019
Northern Mariana Islands American Memorial Park TBA 2019
Guam War in the Pacific National Historical Park TBA 2019
Texas San Antonio Missions National Historical Park TBA 2019
Idaho Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness TBA 2019
  2020 Silver Bullion Coins  
American Samoa National Park of American Samoa TBA 2020
Connecticut Weir Farm National Historic Site TBA 2020
U.S. Virgin Islands Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve TBA 2020
Vermont Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park TBA 2020
Kansas Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve TBA 2020
  2021 Silver Bullion Coins  
Alabama Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site TBA

© 1992-2018 DC2NET™, Inc. All Rights Reserved