U.S. Coin Price Guide

Coin Collecting

Buy Coin Supplies

Mint Unveils 2009 President Coin Designs

Artist rendering of the 2009 Presidential $1 Coins: Harrison, Tyler, Polk, Taylor.

The United States Mint today released the four new portraits that will appear on the obverse (heads side) of Presidential $1 Coins in 2009. The coins honor former Presidents William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk and Zachary Taylor.

"We hope Americans not only appreciate the aesthetic qualities of the Presidential $1 Coins, but also remember each President's legacy every time they use the coins in their daily transactions," said United States Mint Director Ed Moy. "Presidential $1 Coins are convenient to use, save the taxpayers money, and are durable and last for decades."

Beginning with the William Henry Harrison Presidential $1 Coin next year, "In God We Trust" will appear on the obverse of all Presidential $1 Coins. As a result, the edge lettering of the 2009 Presidential $1 Coins will be slightly different from that of 2007 and 2008. Where currently there are single dots (delimiters) between the inscriptions, in 2009 there will be three stars between "E Pluribus Unum" and the mint mark and 10 stars between the year of minting and "E Pluribus Unum."

The Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 directed the United States Mint to inscribe the year of minting or issuance, and the national mottos "E Pluribus Unum" and "In God We Trust" on the edge of the Presidential $1 Coin. In 2008, Congress passed the Consolidated Appropriations Act, which included a provision directing the Secretary of the Treasury to move the inscription "In God We Trust" from the edge of the Presidential $1 Coin to the obverse (heads side) or reverse (tails side) of the coin.

Designs for the 2009 Presidential $1 Coins are based on official White House portraits, intaglio prints and medal designs. The first Presidential $1 Coin of 2009, struck in honor of our ninth President, William Henry Harrison, bears an image sculpted and designed by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Joseph Menna. The second Presidential $1 Coin of 2009, honoring John Tyler, our Nation's 10th President, bears an image designed and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill. The third coin, honoring the 11th President, James K. Polk, features an obverse portrait designed by United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program Master Designer Susan Gamble and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Charles Vickers. The fourth coin, honoring Zachary Taylor, our 12th President, features an obverse portrait by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart. The reverse design on all Presidential $1 Coins features a rendition of the Statue of Liberty, designed and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart.

Launched in 2007, the Presidential $1 Coin Program features a series of designs honoring four Presidents annually, with a new coin issued approximately every three months. Since the inception of the multi-year program, the United States Mint has minted more than 1.4 billion new $1 coins.

© 1992-2018 DC2NET™, Inc. All Rights Reserved